Legislative Advocacy

Chamber > Legislative Advocacy > Leadership Academy

For fourteen years, the Leadership Academy has been preparing individuals to effectively serve their communities by instructing participants about the issues, requirements and expectations associated with public service.

The ten-week course is taught by a highly experienced faculty comprised of current officeholders, instructors from local institutions of higher education and others, all with proven track records of working or interacting with government entities.

Whether you currently hold public office, are a private citizen considering running for public office, are an individual serving on a board, committee or commission, or are employed in a position that requires interaction with elected officials, you will receive plenty of expert insight and guidance from the Academy.

The Leadership Academy has inspired some graduates to run for public office. Alumni include Ohio House Majority Floor Leader Barbara Sears and former Ohio Senator Mark Wagoner, both of whom have returned to serve as recent instructors for the Academy.

For many participants, the course has been valuable for professional business development, in addition to providing information about the public sector and how to engage with government decision makers.

The Leadership Academy is sponsored by The Leadership Fund, the Toledo Regional Chamber of Commerce, The Ohio State University Extension and the Ohio Sea Grant College Program. The Toledo Regional Chamber and The Ohio State University Extension in Toledo started the Leadership Academy in 2002.

For more information on the Leadership Academy and the forthcoming course for 2016, please contact Tim Schneider, Manager, Local Government Advocacy, at (419) 243-8191 or visit the Leadership Academy registration webpage for registration information.

Leadership Academy 2015

Graduation for the 14th Leadership Academy was held on March 30th, 2015. There are currently more than 200 professionals throughout Northwest Ohio who are graduates of the program.


Seated, from left: Shalonda Haynes, Buckeye CableSystem; Becky Folck, Buckeye CableSystem; Marilyn James, Continental Office Environments; Erin Peterson, Erin Peterson Consulting; Kris Charles, Buckeye CableSystem; Matt Vander Hooven, OCP Contractors, Inc.

Standing, from left: Whitney Hopper, Thread Group; Sharon Gillespie, Medical Mutual of Ohio, Veralucia Mendoza, Fifth Third Bank; Joe Lucente, OSU Extension and Sea Grant, Program Sponsor; Daniel Carroll, University of Toledo College of Law; Sean Lewallen, Buckeye CableSystem; Jeff Young, Buckeye CableSystem; Sabrina D'Onofrio, Toledo Regional Chamber of Commerce; Dylan Orwig, The Lathrop Company; Chris Wyche, AT&T; Jeff Reusch, 6th District Court of Appeals; Brad Gillespie, Toledo Edison, a FirstEnergy Company; Representative Barbara Sears; Patrick Kenney, Wilcox Financial.

Not pictured: Christi Rotterdam, ProMedica; Jason Copsey, Columbia Gas of Ohio; Luke Shipp, First Insurance Group; Daniel McKee, Buckeye CableSystem; Chris Stahl, Buckeye CableSystem; Ashley Widman, Buckeye CableSystem.


Investor Members